My next nine to Neverland

Forget the voluntary pre-starvation and the post-bliss brokenness; It’s amazing how ironic it feels—I feel the richest when I hoard books until my wallet whimpers a little. It’s a ripe season for sales over at the malls this week and geez ain’t that so perfect that I just recently finished all of the eight books I scavenged on my second haul? They’re all great reads, by the way, and I’ll be blogging about them real soon. This time around, for only Php 495.00, I managed to bring home the next nine books which will keep me awake for the wee hours of the evenings to come.

The mix is eccentric yet very pretty; I’ve got a seemingly-feminist fiction on Contemporary African women; an artsy, Victorian-centered, gothic thriller; a sexy post-modern love story; a melodramatic coming-of-age crime novel; a self-deprecatingly funny memoir; a juvenile autobiography on adolescent writer woes; a rock and roll fairytale; a short story collection featuring novelettes inspired by songs; a poetry folio by a Pulitzer-prize winning poetess.

Come browse through my loot and see why despite the rest of the world’s influx at dress boutiques, department stores and flashy restos, I’d still rather be in one of the most serene and meaningful places in the world—book shops.

  • Breathing Room (Patricia Elam)
  • Sleep Pale Sister (Joanne Harris)
  • Cake (Sandra Newman)
  • A Northern Light (Jennifer Donelly)
  • Trainwreck (Jeff Nichols)
  • First French Kiss & other Traumas (Adam Bagdasarian)
  • Lit Riffs: Writers “cover” songs they love
  • Red Bird:Poems (Mary Oliver)
Leave a Reply

