Tag Thursdays #1

GREED
What is your most expensive book? What is your least expensive book?

In line with my apparent idiocy in Math and numbers, it is probably no surprise that I am just as bad with keeping tabs on book price tags. Or maybe there’s just really no measure to things that make us happy, cheap or un-cheap. So I guess I’ll just pick the one book I could remember because I bought it with the gift certificate given to me as a Christmas gift by an Ambassador when he picked my wishlist for the Christmas Party during my brief internship at the Department of Foreign Affairs. I’m talking about ‘Fade’ by Robert Cromier. I have a lot of books I bought for ridiculously low prices thanks to Booksale, but one book that sticks out from memory would be ‘Red Bird’ which is a poetry collection by award-winning poetess Mary Oliver which I scored for 10.00 php. It’s so crazy that it’s almost cruel, I know.

WRATH
What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

It pains me to say this because I really loved the first novel I read from her, but I hated the second book just as much. Alice Hoffman is an undeniable talent and there’s no arguing that. I am probably feeling this way because of the sharp contrast between my reading experience of ‘Local Girls’ (which I adored and gushed about in a book review last year), and the grueling, almost sluggish encounter with ‘Here on Earth’ which just fell flat and agonizing to get over with. I’m confident though that I love her more than I dislike her, because I’ve only read two of her works and she has an impressive body of writing that awaits me.

GLUTTONY
What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

‘A Northern Light’ by Jennifer Donnelly is just magical and I never get tired of reading it again and again, especially when I’m sad and a little bit upset about life in general. That book understands me, okay?

SLOTH
What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

I always strive to finish every book I start reading as some sort of sacred commitment to books and in respect to authors who wrote them for the world. It’s a hard critique to say that a book is boring, but there are really books out there that can be such struggle to finish. I spent a long, long time before I finally finished Donna Tartt’s ‘A Little Friend’, but mostly it’s because that book is darn thick and the font is bite-sized, and I was reading at a time in my life where I’m so busy. Alice Mcdermott’s ‘Child of my heart’ also ages to finish because of the absence of plot movement, if there was any plot at all. It reads like a short story that was unnecessarily expanded and thus I felt the pace kind of slackened and suffered.

PRIDE
What books do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

I don’t talk about it much, but I guess if there’s one book I want to brag about having finished just to sound faux-cool and intellectual, I’ll pick Umberto Eco’s the ‘Name of the Rose’. And I read that when I was barely seventeen to boot. [Subliminal message successfully inserted.] The classics are also a great way to intimidate most people so it helps a lot that I did my homework on Austen, Salinger, Fitzgerald, Golding, Poe, Shakespeare, Plath…

LUST
What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

Two things and it’s a done deal for my heart of hearts: Wit and Wordplay. A character must have a great and beautiful mind that’s genuine enough for me to want them to come to life and surreal enough for me to keep them my deepest secrets. Uh, okay, if a character’s an inherently good and passionate kisser, it could be a plus.

ENVY
What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

I like to receive book sets of any trilogy, but I would also appreciate any book by Daniel Handler or a copy of Nabokov’s Lolita in pretty paperback design. For anything else, there’s always Must-have Mondays for reference. Hehe. ❤

Leave a Reply

