What-if Wednesdays: Literary Character for President!

Okay, so I’m still in the process of recovering from the US 2012 Election type (which is strange, because I’m not even a citizen of the USA in the first place), but gosh, that was such a stiff race between Obama and Romney that had me biting my nails towards the end. It’s pretty much in my vein to give a damn about world politics and international affairs because 1.) I took up Consular & Diplomatic Affairs in college and 2.) I am a lot nosier than the average person, so it’s a given that I like ducking my nose into other people’s business just to satiate my curiosity. Yes, I am sounding so snooty yet again, I know.

Anyway, it had me thinking which fictional literary character I could possibly elect as president of my country if ever I was given the chance. Wild idea, I know, but only one name popped up inside my mind regardless. And even though after quite a while I was able to come up with three or so other names for possible runner-up candidates, I know very well that there’s really no competition: Atticus Finch is my man.

Harper Lee’s well-loved classic ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ has made her a literary history-maker because it mirrored the conflict and culture of such an integral part of history: the history of how once upon a time, a lot of barriers separated one man from another, and the history of these barriers on the brink of collapse. It is a very important moment that has been beautifully captured in the simplicity of a plot set in a small humble town. Atticus Finch is extraordinary in so many ways and I just can’t help but sob at the unfairness of him being someone fictional. Just imagine how much of an accomplished, wonderful and well-loved president he might become if he ever existed in real life!

Because let’s face it, how can we not be won-over by a man of such dignified principles and upright values? He lived in an era where equality is still an unpopular concept, a seemingly-utopian theory; but he stood his ground with upholding and safeguarding the honor and rights of individuals regardless of their race, social background, education or skin color. And on top of that, he had been such a fantastic father who did a job well done on raising his two kids to see the world through his eyes: of compassion and justice. And seriously, how can we not be charmed by a guy who utters these words?

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what. You rarely win, but sometimes you do.”

Atticus Finch for President, folks!

Leave a Reply

