Trivia Tuesdays: The novel that will break your heart in 6 words

Ever wondered what the shortest novel ever written was?

I’m ashamed and shuddering to say that I still am yet to read something from one of Literature’s big guys’, Hemingway. I suppose there are readers out there in the world who wouldn’t recognize anyone who hasn’t read any Hemingway yet as a real reader. I am so afraid of my life  and I understand the urgency of getting a Hemingway book asap but I honestly don’t know where to start.

So it’s been delightful coincidence that on the course of my all-too-sudden interest on flash fiction back when I was sixteen and sad, that I’ve come across a quirky, not-very-well-known fact about Hemingway: Holy smokes, he wrote the shortest novel ever written! He supposedly wrote it on a napkin, amidst unbelieving friends who bet $10 each that he couldn’t write a story in six words as he claimed.

And then he came with this piece.

Ehemingway

I think we all know who won the bet that night.

Man, I am the definition of mind-blown when I’ve read it. It’s not only the shortest; I daresay it’s also one of the most heartbreaking works I’ve ever read. Just…wow.

Off to get some Hemingway reading real soon for sure!  Recommendations, folks? 🙂

Leave a Reply

