Thirteen Reading Resolutions for 2013

thirteeen

1. In the attempt to read more books than I did for 2012, I am challenging (and committing) myself to read 60 books for 2013 which pretty much translates to five books every month. Yes, let’s be ambitious.

2. I will write and blog more book reviews from now on, even if this means dragging myself to the computer and sacrificing what few hours I have left for sleeping. [Subliminal plea for sympathy successfully inserted.]

3. I will try to be less cranky and less jaded about books and authors I’ve had bad experiences with in the past. Forgiveness, as they say, is key to a happier life. I will abandon my pompous, high-brow ways by always reminding myself that books also have rights against discrimination.

4. I will keep on holding on to my simple philosophy in life that I should never ever judge a book by its movie. (*cough* 2013 film adaptations *cough*)

5. I will save more money for book-shopping, but shall restrain myself if my TBR pile exceeds what’s humanly-possible to manage or is just plain ridiculously monstrous.

6. In the nth attempt to become systematic, I will now dedicate monthly TBR lists and wrap-up reports.

7. I will encourage more people to read and will never ever become stingy in letting friends borrow my books.

8. I will support Philippine Literature by buying books written by local, home-grown authors.

9. I will read as much Classics as I could.

10. I will finish a High Fantasy Epic this year.

11. I will attend book signings by authors if my schedule permits.

12. I will save up money to buy myself a huge bookshelf on my birthday.

13. I will never forget to have fun.

Happy New Year to us all! 

3 thoughts on “Thirteen Reading Resolutions for 2013

  1. I agree with No.4, the book is almost always better than the movie. But I am always excited for movie adaptations of books. (Catching Fire!)

    No. 9, on the other hand is something that I find very hard for me to do. Classics hurt my head. Hee. 🙂

    You’ve reminded me about trying to squeeze in some high fantasy next year too. Game of Thrones perhaps.

    Have a great 2013! 😀

    • Haha, so true about books and movies. Oh, I loved the Hunger Games movie too, I think Jennifer Lawrence did a fantastic job in making Katniss such a fantastic heroine.

      Re: Classics: Old literature can really be a tough nut to crack sometimes but they’re also almost worth it every time, so I’d like to give them a chance as much as I could. :))

      And yeah, you can say that again. Game of Thrones is exactly what I have in mind when I thought of my resolution for High-Fantasy series. Good luck to us and may the odds be ever in our favor! Lol. 🙂

Leave a comment