January To-Be-Read List

JANTBR

One of my reading resolutions for 2013 is dedicated to blogging about my monthly TBR lists and Wrap-Up reviews. All this, of course, in the attempt to become a wee bit more systemized than last year. I always fancy myself as becoming this ultra-organized person whose entire life consists of lists and structured routines. Sadly though, I fail big time at being an orderly person; I have never followed any TBR monthly lists in my entire reading life. Still, the New Year is always a license to change, so here’s hoping this attempt will become a fruitful, if not sustained, pursuit.

I’ve been struggling between wanting to have a theme for January and just picking up random five books. In the end, diversity won over uniformity. I think I’m going to try themes in February instead, and I’m sure you can already predict the cliché choice. Yeah, we give in to mainstream urges sometimes.

After a couple of revisions and change-of-heart episodes in the past few days, I finally completed the line-up for the first month of this year. It’s a deliciously assorted mix of a beloved children’s classic, an acclaimed High Fantasy Epic, a contemporary chick-lit novel, a gorgeously-designed paranormal YA book, and a little poetry collection from one of the most romantic poets who ever graced the history of literature. Ah, this could only be good, you guys; I can already taste it!

Here’s wishing that it’ll be a worthy prelude to a hopefully kick-ass year of reading awesomeness.

1. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
2. Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
3. Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes
4. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins
5. Love: Ten Poems by Pablo Neruda

Leave a Reply

