February TBR

febtbr

Call me delusional or in-denial, but I’m succumbing to cliché for this month’s theme: Love—-the very reason why February is my least favorite month ever.

Let it not be a secret that I have never had a boyfriend in my twenty-two years of existence in this planet. I’ve been telling my friends that I have plenty of imaginary boyfriends inside my head but I’ve been told time and again that those kind of things don’t count. Also, that mentally dating my celebrity crushes is never a valid excuse for a relationship too. Ah, this cruel world, it still fascinates me how I am still managing to survive to this day. How do I get by? Books and reading, of course.

For the month of February, I carefully selected titles that will tackle different stages and phases of love, and I was able to come up with this mix: the quintessential chick-lit about a bookshop girl’s one night stand with her favorite author (Love Letters), a whirlwind YA love story about two strangers exchanging notes and dares, which I discovered through Rabbitin’s Blog (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares), An intellectual, contemporary college romance about English Majors and the purveyors of love in literature (The Marriage Plot), A romantic fiction of love and loss about a widow recounting what she truly knows about her late husband (Before Ever After) and a darker tale about sexual obsession and the psychology of desire (Killing Me Softly).

You can say that for someone who’s been single all her life, I am somewhat in favor of torturing myself with these book choices. True, but these reading experiences also delight me in so many ways. In his book ‘Abundance of Katherines’, John Green said,

“Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

And aren’t they just so? So I say, bring on the drama, to my TBR pile for this month: I know you will break my heart and hurt me, but you better do an awesome job of it and hurt me real good.

3 thoughts on “February TBR

  1. Cute blog… love your philosophy about dating books… hehehe I get pretty much distracted between reading and my hubby so it’s pretty much weekdays reading and hubby time weekends for me… 🙂

    • Aw, thanks! You’ve got a cute blog too! Delighted to know you still have time for reading despite the married life, haha. Most married people I know simply don’t have time anymore for reading. But, ah, I guess bookworms like us just really can’t give up reading no matter what, right? Haha. What are you reading for this month? Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Thanks for mentioning my blog! 🙂 I hope you’ll like Dash and Lily’s. Love Letters has a cute premise. As for Jeffrey Eugenides’ it’s his Virgin Suicides that I have my eye on. But adult lit scares me. Haha!

    Love the John Green quote. I hope to read An Abundance of Katherines as well.

Leave a Reply

