The Attractive Anonymous

dashandlily

Seriously, what is with YA and its sexier-than-thou angst-ridden teenage boys? It’s always love at first page!

Dash, from Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, looks pretty darn close to my ideal type of hot geeks. Moody, jaded, smart as hell—my favorite brand of whiny bleeding heart. Needless to say, I’ve had such a terrific time reading this book. Cute, enchanting plot + quirky young characters + memorable dialogue + zippy romance = FUN.

This is not my first reading experience with David Levithan. I first picked up Marly’s Ghost last year and liked it a lot for me to remember his writing style. He definitely has a trademark knack for creating characters that are so flawed yet so easy to relate to and sympathize with. And while I haven’t read any Rachel Cohn writing yet, I have watched ‘Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist’ a couple of years back, which is a similarly-titled movie adaptation of the book they co-wrote together. That movie is so delightfully indie but enjoyable and wacky nonetheless. To date, I think I must have replayed that film over seven times—and will possibly re-watch it real soon. This book is very reminiscent of this film since the plot and premise are pretty much on a similar vein, but it’s the characters that set the two stories apart. It’s like dating a guy who bears a striking resemblance to your ex-boyfriend; sometimes love is really sweeter the second time around, although, well, déjà vu flashbacks can be quite inevitable.

The name of the game is chance encounters. Anonymity has this certain attraction to it that’s just hard to point fingers at but still captivating nonetheless. I bought this book for this reason and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s a page-turner, yes it is. Lily, our heroine might be too sugar-sweet bordering on naive  but that didn’t keep me from loving her unabashed cheery outlook in life. See how she channels her inner hopeless romantic in this utterance:

“I want to believe there is somebody out there for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.”

That’s my secret soliloquy given a voice, folks. Sung in a brave, brave hum. Dash is just as unapologetic, and the contrast between them two only makes their interactions all the more feisty and gaaah—so satisfying.

“You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtship. They want to know immediately.”

This book, it is a nod and a tribute to a whole-new level of intelligent flirting, because, damn it—there’s such a thing and it is not dead! Or so I hope. I really do.

2 thoughts on “The Attractive Anonymous

  1. Yay! I am so glad you loved this book! If we are going to talk about romance in YA books, this is the kind that I like. This is my first and best Levithan so far. But then I’ve only had two really. This and The Lover’s Dictionary. This is the first time that I’ve heard of Marly’s Ghost. Must put that on my list. 🙂

    • I have you to thank for this book. I’m so glad I took your recommendation to heart and got myself a copy of this. Looking forward to more of your book suggestions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

