MARCH TBR

marchtbr

Gah, the grandeur!

After the absolute cheesiness of February, I’m ready to move on to March by rewarding myself by taking on a genre very close to my heart: historical fiction. Excuse me while I do a little happy dance. 2012 has been an excellent year for reading good historical fiction novels and I’m expecting I’ll have an even grander time this year.

I know you’re probably wondering why I only have three books in my reading list here when I should be reading at least five titles a month, so I have some explaining to do. I, myself, wish I could include more books since I have plenty of historical fiction novels in my unread stack, but I ultimately settled with aiming just for three this month. It’s a tough decision indeed, but it’s necessary. Firstly, the length. You might probably not see it in the picture above, but these books are massive doorstoppers, by which I mean to say each of them run for no less than 500+ pages. Most historical fiction novels are, anyway. Secondly, the time-constraints. I know I must always keep in mind that I am challenging myself to read 60 books this year as my resolution, but I also stated in my 2013 resolution list that I must never ever forget to have fun. I don’t want reading to become a burden for me, nor feel like it’s a a task that has a deadline to be met. Because come on, where’s the fun in that? Historical Fiction is too precious to be rushed and I simply want to savor each story in their own pace.

So what do I have for my March TBR then? Goodness, I had such a hard time picking which will make the list, but I’m really happy and super pumped with these three novels. I have a mythological-esque story set in Ancient Israel about the lives of four archaic women (The Dovekeepers). It is written by Alice Hoffman and the third book I will be reading from her and oh boy, you have no idea how excited I am about this. And then I also have this dramatic novel set in eighteenth century England from Emma Donoghue, another author that I love (Life Mask). Anything Victorian is always a delight to read and this one looks like a real treat. Finally, I have a book set in Germany at the time of the Nazi reign (The Book Thief), and I’ve heard nothing but great things about it from anyone who has ever read it. It’s so highly recommended by pretty much everyone that I’m already getting goose bumps in anticipation. I’m not even kidding.

March will definitely be a hot month and I don’t mean just the metro weather when I say that—vintage, as all historical fiction lovers know, will always be sexy. So say it with me now: this month’s TBR shall be sizzling!

4 thoughts on “MARCH TBR

  1. Yay for historicals! The Dovekeepers and Life Mask are new to me. Is Emma Donoghue, the one who wrote Room? And you’re right, I never really came across anyone who did not like The Book Thief, me included. I am on my way to finishing a historical YA entitled Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. And I think it’s really amazing that I am freaking out. Almost the same level of freak out that I had with A Northern Light. Haha! Who ever said historicals are boring?

    Have a great March! And have fun with these grand historical reads! 🙂

    • Yes, Emma Donoghue wrote Room. However, I liked her better with historical fiction, I suppose. The first book I’ve read from her is entitled ‘Slammerkin’ which is about prostitution and fashion during the Victorian period. Needless to say, that book blew my mind, so I’m really excited.

      Whoa, sounds like we have a situation there with ‘Code Name Verity’, eh? Will definitely be on the lookout for your review on that one. Yay! Have fun with your Superhero March TBR too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

