March Wrap-Up

marchwrapup_

UGH THE RELENTLESS DRAMA OF REAL LIFE.

When I say that March has been ONE FREAKING HELL OF A MONTH, I mean it in all the possible ways you can think of—figuratively, literally, physically, mentally, emotionally, heck, even spiritually, I daresay.  I won’t get into details but let’s just say I’m in the process of pursuing what I really wanted to do for the next couple of years, and in doing so I need to make some sacrifices here and there. Evidently, as you might have already noticed, I’ve been gone for almost the entire second half of March, so you’re probably thinking that I also haven’t got the time to read. The good news though, is that I still managed to read my TBR for this month, albeit taking a longer than the usual to finish. Reading might have been the only thing that’s keeping me sane these days, so I still brought books whenever possible, reading a chapter or two when I had the time.

March has been a really trying month for me in ways that I sometimes thought I could no longer handle and I wish I can tell you about it but I know you’re not here for that. I can tell you though that I’m really grateful and glad that I decided on reading historical fiction this month because in more ways than one, the three books on my list have been such a comfort and a marvelous escape from all the daily stress and occasional depression. It’s good to know that for a while, I can forget my present-day anxieties by reading about the lives of people from another century. Whenever I think of how sad my life is, I just turn a page and I am right away transported to a different place and time, and I will just find myself overwhelmed with gratitude that my miseries are so juvenile and trivial compared to theirs. I’m not perpetually at the mercy of the whims of high society like Mrs. Damer, I’m not starving or hiding on a bomb shelter like Liesl, I’m not shunned or bereaved of a loved one like the Masada Dovekeepers. Counting blessings is always the key and reading books makes this so much easier, even when all else fails.

My life may not be at its very best right now, but if there’s one thing I remember from these books, it’s the fact that no matter how grim or hopeless our circumstances may be, great things will always come for those who wait. The best thing about hitting rock bottom? There’s no way to go but up!

• Life Mask, Emma Donoghue (Date finished: March 23) ★★★★☆
• The Book Thief, Markus Zusak (Date finished: March 26) ★★★★★
• The Dovekeepers, Alice Hoffman (Date finished: April 5 ) ★★★★★

Here’s to April and for better things!

Leave a Reply

