How the Book Thief stole my heart—in 7 interludes

bookthiefreview2

I’ve been holding my breath for the Book Thief from the time it has been part of my acquisitions late last year. The suspense is so precious that I’ve left it untouched for so many months, not even venturing as far as tearing off its plastic wrap because I wanted to wait for the perfect day when I could have all the time in the world to finally unleash and bite into its goodness. I also have this predetermined plan to record my reading progress and emotions in check every hundred or so pages so as to fully capture the experience in detail.

All this, and the fact that pretty much every reader who has ever laid hands on this book speak nothing but good things, led my expectations skyrocketing like mad. When the day finally arrived, I’ve come to understand fully why even the grandest of preparations can’t always assure that our hearts will be ready for what is to come. Because the book thief still stole my heart in the end and oh boy, was it worth the freaking wait.

Page 108: So far I’m really digging the distinctive kind of storytelling Zusak is using to propel the story forward. I still re-read some paragraphs twice though, just for me to make sure I grasped everything right, but it’s refreshing and it’s awesome how the detached nature of our narrator, although very pragmatic and consistently objective, brings out the raw sentiments in every situation. I’m still yet to love Liesl the heroine, though. There’s not much of her character yet at the moment, but I think we’ll get there soon enough. Also, the description of the setting and the era is very engaging and atmospheric. I think Saumensch will be a fixture in my vocabulary now, haha.

Page 204: Boy, I love Liesl’s foster parents so much. Hans Hubermann and his wife Rosa are fast becoming my favorite characters in this story so far , as things take a turn for the worst. Also I’m already getting the hang of the storytelling now as bits and pieces are already falling into place. I can say I’m now fully invested in the dilemma of the characters and Liesl is already growing in on me.

Page 238: Uh, is there something wrong with shipping a 24-year old guy with a 12-year old girl? Because oh my goodness, I do. Ugh. That’s not exactly a bad thing right?

Page 303: That’s it. Book has officially broken my heart. Rudy Steiner, you bleeding heart Saukerl! Come here and let me love you, poor boy. I’ll give you all the kisses you want!

Page 398: FOUR FREAKING WORDS FROM A SINGLE NOTE and I am immediately in tears. Oh man, how to survive for the next hundred or so pages? How?

Page 550: There are no more feels because dardenitaaa’s heart has now been successfully stolen and is now shredded into pieces and presently crumpled in death’s pocket.

The Book Thief is the kind of book you can hold your breath for, but would still take your breath away nonetheless. Get ready for as long as you want, and you would still be knocked over. You could document your thoughts about it but it will be utterly useless because it’s all engraved in your mind anyway, and will be there, unforgotten, for a very, very long time.

Leave a Reply

