MAY TBR

maytbr_ed

All in all, April has been a good month and it might be hard to top my recent productivity to date, but I’m feeling quite ambitious for May. I don’t know why exactly, but I’m just in the mood to do some serious damage to my TBR Pile so I can justify another round of Book Haul I’m planning to have in June. (Gah, it’s about time!) Hence, I’m challenging myself to read SIX BOOKS for this month. Yup, you’ve read that right.

So what exactly is the perfect genre to take on if you want to READ UNSTOPPABLY? Oh yeah.

It’s time for THRILLERS AND MYSTERIES!

I don’t know about you but thrillers and mysteries have this kind of effect on me: I find them so irresistible to ever put down that it’s so likely I’ll finish a book in one day. I’m feeling pretty confident I’ll succeed in this pursuit, more so because the books I have for this month’s TBR are books I’ve been dying to read for a long time, so yeah.

To begin with, I picked two books from my most recent haul: a creepy Japanese Dystopian novel about suicide pacts (Harmony) and a gothic historical fiction set in the 16th century about witchcraft and medieval horrors (Holy Fools). I also can’t begin to tell you how excited I am that I’m finally reading Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children after almost a year of just gazing at it lovingly on my shelf. (I have this weird habit of putting off for later books that I think I will love; don’t even ask.) Plus, I’ve also included Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl in the list, a book everyone has been raving about since it came out. I’ve read her book ‘Dark Places’ back in 2011 and I’m damn sure this will be a lot more terrifying. On top of everything else, I have two books from the queen of crime herself, Agatha Christie (Murder at the Vicarage & And Then There Were None). This reading list literally gives me shivers! Thriller Game Face on!

Have a wondrously creepy month in reading guys

and enjoy the rest of your summer!

2 thoughts on “MAY TBR

  1. Happy to see a fellow msytery/thriller fan! I absolutely love Gone Girl, probably the craziest book I’ve ever read but I didn’t like Dark Places that much. Maybe because I read Gone Girl first and was expecting so much from Flynn. However you should read Sharp Object, another crazy read. Anyways, happy reading.

    • I just finished Gone Girl today and whoa indeed. Flynn has really outdone herself this time. I’m delighted to meet a fellow mystery/thriller fan too. Thank you so much for dropping by, Joan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

